2018 PPTA Award Winners

Carlin-Michels Achievement Award

Susan Clinton, PT, DSc, MHS

The Carlin-Michels Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the physical therapy profession and/or the Association in one or more of the following areas: direct patient care, education, research, and service to the community or profession.






 Service Award

 Jeff Rothman, PT, DPT, OCS


The Service Award is presented to a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who has significantly contributed to the betterment of physical therapy within the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and has supported the mission of the Association.




 CTI Humanitarian Award

 Barbara Wagner, PT, DPT, MHA


This award is given for service that occurs outside the profession of physical therapy.




 Steven Kolumban PTA Award

 Doug Slick, PTA, BA


This award acknowledges a physical therapist assistant who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in clinical practice, community service, and personal commitment to physical therapy through professional contributions to the PPTA, the PPTA PTA Special Interest Group (SIG), or the APTA.  



Special Interest Group Award Winners

The awards for each SIG recognize a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant that is a member of APTA/PPTA and has made meaningful contributions to physical therapy at the individual, Chapter, or National level in the practice area supported by the SIG. The contributions can be in any of the following areas: excellence in patient care or clinical practice; excellence in education or research; and/or community advocacy.

Acute Care SIG Award

 Michael Pechulis, PT, DPT

Geriatric SIG Award











Ann Lowrey, PTA


Jennifer Sidelinker, PT, DPT



 Neurology SIG Award

 Mary E. Schmidt, PT, DPT, MS, FASIA







 Pediatric SIG Award

 Kara L. Kobal, PT, DPT, ATC







 Private Practice Award

 Steven Hoffman, PT, ATC

PPTA Leadership Awards

Minority Affairs Award

Brittany Irwin
Kenny Chukwuocha

Dr. Tom Steward Award

Ally Patterson

8th Annual Student Leadership Award

Sierra Dunlap
Ryan Kalkbrenner